About Powder Springs, GA
As Cobb County’s oldest city, was originally incorporated as Springville in 1838, but earned the nickname “Gunpowder Springs” because of the gunpowder-like sediment that resulted from the mineral content of the spring water.
Powder Springs’ history, spanning back to the time the Creek and Cherokee Indians occupied the area, and settlers coming to the area as early as 1819, is chronicled in the Seven Springs Museum at the Historic Bodiford House on Marietta Street. The main entrance to the museum contains a brief history of Powder Springs from the time that the Creek & Cherokee Indians occupied the area. The settlers came as early as 1819.
By the late 1850’s, Springville was a bustling resort area where people came for the medicinal mineral waters of the springs. Over a 20-year period, five hotels were built and many residents took in boarders to handle the overflow. By 1859, the name of the town was changed to Powder Springs.
Today, residents and visitors to Powder Springs enjoy the closest downtown to the Silver Comet Trail, a 61.5-mile paved trail that runs through Cobb, Paulding and Polk counties. It starts in Smyrna and runs west to the Georgia-Alabama line.
Downtown Powder Springs also includes unique businesses (with more set to open in 2021), development opportunities for residential and commercial builders, and the new Thurman Springs Park featuring the Hardy Family Automotive Amphitheater.